3 Title
| link

MTG - Gain control & exile query What is the difference between Owning and Controlling an object on the Battlefield?

2 deleted 158 characters in body
source | link

I’m a little confused on what the outcome of this scenario is – any help would be appreciated.

Let’s say I cast Turn AgainstTurn Against on one my opponent’s creatures. So I would “Gain control of target creature until end of turn.” However If I use the ability of Eldrazi DisplacerEldrazi Displacer on the same creature after gaining control which says “Exile another target creature, then return it to the battlefield tapped under its owner's control.” Will this creature become mine forever?

I assume that the effect of Turn Against only applied to the first instance of the creature I targeted. Then when I use Displacer’s ability a new version on that creature is placed on the field and all equipment etc. is removed including effects from spells?

  1. After using Displacer’s ability will I be the “owner” of the targeted creature
  2. Will the creature return to my opponent at the end of my turn?

If this doesn’t make sense – please let me know.

Thanks, Ben

I’m a little confused on what the outcome of this scenario is – any help would be appreciated.

Let’s say I cast Turn Against on one my opponent’s creatures. So I would “Gain control of target creature until end of turn.” However If I use the ability of Eldrazi Displacer on the same creature after gaining control which says “Exile another target creature, then return it to the battlefield tapped under its owner's control.” Will this creature become mine forever?

I assume that the effect of Turn Against only applied to the first instance of the creature I targeted. Then when I use Displacer’s ability a new version on that creature is placed on the field and all equipment etc. is removed including effects from spells?

  1. After using Displacer’s ability will I be the “owner” of the targeted creature
  2. Will the creature return to my opponent at the end of my turn?

If this doesn’t make sense – please let me know.

Thanks, Ben

I’m a little confused on what the outcome of this scenario is – any help would be appreciated.

Let’s say I cast Turn Against on one my opponent’s creatures. So I would “Gain control of target creature until end of turn.” However If I use the ability of Eldrazi Displacer on the same creature after gaining control which says “Exile another target creature, then return it to the battlefield tapped under its owner's control.” Will this creature become mine forever?

I assume that the effect of Turn Against only applied to the first instance of the creature I targeted. Then when I use Displacer’s ability a new version on that creature is placed on the field and all equipment etc. is removed including effects from spells?

  1. After using Displacer’s ability will I be the “owner” of the targeted creature
  2. Will the creature return to my opponent at the end of my turn?

If this doesn’t make sense – please let me know.

Thanks, Ben

1
source | link

MTG - Gain control & exile query

I’m a little confused on what the outcome of this scenario is – any help would be appreciated.

Let’s say I cast Turn Against on one my opponent’s creatures. So I would “Gain control of target creature until end of turn.” However If I use the ability of Eldrazi Displacer on the same creature after gaining control which says “Exile another target creature, then return it to the battlefield tapped under its owner's control.” Will this creature become mine forever?

I assume that the effect of Turn Against only applied to the first instance of the creature I targeted. Then when I use Displacer’s ability a new version on that creature is placed on the field and all equipment etc. is removed including effects from spells?

  1. After using Displacer’s ability will I be the “owner” of the targeted creature
  2. Will the creature return to my opponent at the end of my turn?

If this doesn’t make sense – please let me know.

Thanks, Ben