10 added 78 characters in body
source | link

This effectively makes a Commander card “marked” in hidden zones, but that's the rules Commander works with. It means when a Commander card is face-down or in your hand,: you're obligated to clarify which card isthat's a Commander card if you can know, and anyone including you is entitled to knowfind this out. This ruling of needing to know commander-ness anywhere exists to handle effects like commander damage from morphed commanders (a 2/2 face-down commander still deals commander damage) and extends to all zones for various other corner cases.

Sometimes it'll be obvious: myMy own EDH decks often have my 99 in one color sleeve, and my generalcommander sleeved in anothera different color sleeve, soto the rest: you'll seeknow where my commander is because it'll be the only red-sleeved card in myan otherwise green-sleeved deck.

In practice if you're not sleeving If you don't have your Commander cardcommander in a different color-color sleeve, then you would either bookmarkcan “bookmark” your commander before tuckingputting it into your library (addin a hidden zone or turning it face-down by slipping a scrap of paper to the sleeve that'll stick out the top of the sleeve) or you wouldn't worry about it until someone needs to know (at which point you'd search for your commander, identifyhelping you and others track its position, bookmark it then, shuffle your library,location and re-insert your commander into the appropriate position)-ness.

This kind of ruling is necessary to track commander damage from Morphed commanders (your morphed 2/2 Commander is still dealing commander damage when it deals combat damage to a player) and explicitly carries over to things like tuck effects Genomancer recommends the uniquely colored sleeve approach.

In that quote, Genomancer confirms that even in the case of Grimoire Thief exiling a card from a player's library, that player is entitled to know whether that card was their commander and, if so, they are entitled to replace the exile with a move to the command zone.

(If you didn't bookmark your commander, you could re-identify its position in a library by searching for it in your library, noting its position relative to the top or bottom, bookmarking it then, shuffling your library, and re-inserting your commander card into the right position.)

This effectively makes a Commander card “marked” in hidden zones, but that's the rules Commander works with. It means when a Commander card is face-down or in your hand, you're obligated to clarify which card is a Commander card, and anyone including you is entitled to know this.

Sometimes it'll be obvious: my EDH decks often have my 99 in one color sleeve, and my general in another color sleeve, so you'll see the red-sleeved card in my green-sleeved deck.

In practice if you're not sleeving your Commander card in a different color, then you would either bookmark your commander before tucking it into your library (add a scrap of paper that'll stick out the top of the sleeve) or you wouldn't worry about it until someone needs to know (at which point you'd search for your commander, identify its position, bookmark it then, shuffle your library, and re-insert your commander into the appropriate position).

This kind of ruling is necessary to track commander damage from Morphed commanders (your morphed 2/2 Commander is still dealing commander damage when it deals combat damage to a player) and explicitly carries over to things like tuck effects.

In that quote, Genomancer confirms that even in the case of Grimoire Thief exiling a card from a player's library, that player is entitled to know whether that card was their commander and, if so, they are entitled to replace the exile with a move to the command zone.

This effectively makes a Commander card “marked” in hidden zones: you're obligated to clarify that's a Commander card if you can know, and anyone including you is entitled to find this out. This ruling of needing to know commander-ness anywhere exists to handle effects like commander damage from morphed commanders (a 2/2 face-down commander still deals commander damage) and extends to all zones for various other corner cases.

My own EDH decks have my commander sleeved in a different color to the rest: you'll know where my commander is because it'll be the only red-sleeved card in an otherwise green-sleeved deck. If you don't have your commander in a different-color sleeve, you can “bookmark” your commander before putting it in a hidden zone or turning it face-down by slipping a scrap of paper to the sleeve that'll stick out the top, helping you and others track its location and commander-ness. Genomancer recommends the uniquely colored sleeve approach.

In that quote, Genomancer confirms that even in the case of Grimoire Thief exiling a card from a player's library, that player is entitled to know whether that card was their commander and, if so, they are entitled to replace the exile with a move to the command zone.

(If you didn't bookmark your commander, you could re-identify its position in a library by searching for it in your library, noting its position relative to the top or bottom, bookmarking it then, shuffling your library, and re-inserting your commander card into the right position.)

9 putting this inside the sentence is clearer; the parenthetical doesn't relate to the whole paragraph.
source | link

Yes, you can move your Commander to the Command zone as part of drawing it, even if it was face-down on top of your library. It would not count as a draw. (I'lldraw; I'll cover that further downwhy later in response to your question #3.)

Yes, you can move your Commander to the Command zone as part of drawing it, even if it was face-down on top of your library. It would not count as a draw. (I'll cover that further down in response to your question #3.)

Yes, you can move your Commander to the Command zone as part of drawing it, even if it was face-down on top of your library. It would not count as a draw; I'll cover why later in response to your question #3.

8 added 94 characters in body
source | link

Yes, you can move your Commander to the Command zone as part of drawing it, even if it was face-down on top of your library. It would not count as a draw. (I'll cover that further down in response to your question #3.)

Yes, you can move your Commander to the Command zone as part of drawing it, even if it was face-down on top of your library.

Yes, you can move your Commander to the Command zone as part of drawing it, even if it was face-down on top of your library. It would not count as a draw. (I'll cover that further down in response to your question #3.)

7 fakts & more cleanup
source | link
6 more concise way to express this
source | link
5 added 4 characters in body
source | link
4 cleanup
source | link
3 added 890 characters in body
source | link
2 added 890 characters in body
source | link
1
source | link