The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.
    Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackBoardGames/status/102535739870412802
2 edited tags
| link
1
source | link

Which effect triggers first in MTG: Mage Slayer or Mystifying Maze

Yesterday I played a deck with the card Mage Slayer against a deck with Mystifying Maze. I equipped a creature with Mage Slayer and attacked. My opponent reacted by exiling the equipped creature with his Mystifying Maze.

The ability of Mage Slayer triggers and resolves in the declare attackers step. Can Mystifying Maze prevent this? It can only target attacking creatures, therefor it can only be used once the attackers are declared.

What's the correct ruling in this situation?