All Questions

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1 vote
1 answer
80 views

How does the fight ability work when the creature instigating the fight is recast?

Suppose Brash Taunter's fight ability is activated targeting some other creature to fight with Brash Taunter. A stack is started with that ability on the bottom. Next Unsummon is cast targeting Brash ...
Araq's user avatar
  • 113
-1 votes
0 answers
24 views

Carrom - Can I continue my strike if I touch a coin accidentally

Carrom - Am I allowed to continue my strike if I touch a coin accidentally before the strike? During my turn, before the strike if I touch/move a c/m, Am I still allowed to strike or Do I lose my turn ...
Valamburi M's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
879 views

Can Black Lotus alone enable the Turn 1 Channel-Fireball combo?

Reading about the rulings for Gilded Lotus, I've discovered that "add three mana of any one color" means: add three mana of a single color, not three mana of possibly distinct colors. Black ...
alecov's user avatar
  • 161
2 votes
1 answer
49 views

How does the master key disrupt card work in Vaults?

In Vaults, there is a card with the following wording: Place this key on any crew, they may crack any vault this turn Does this mean that I can use someone else's crew to crack open a vault for ...
kesarling's user avatar
  • 121
0 votes
1 answer
62 views

Inalla, Archmage Ritualist and Mistbind Clique interaction?

If I play a Mistbind Clique, I have to sacrifice it unless I exile another Faerie I control (and the Faerie will then return when Mistbind Clique leaves the battlefield). Inalla, Archmage Ritualist ...
Jedediah's user avatar
  • 285
-3 votes
1 answer
100 views

Fling's interaction with Rekindling Phoenix [closed]

So I've tried this twice now. I cast Fling targeting an enemy creature, sacrificing a Rekindling Phoenix as part of the cost; the Phoenix then ends up exiled for some reason. So it doesn't "die&...
DarkNeuron's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
522 views

Am I understanding Ulalek, Fused Atrocity?

Ulalek, Fused Atrocity says: Whenever you cast an Eldrazi spell, you may pay {C}{C}. If you do, copy all spells you control, then copy all other activated and triggered abilities you control. You may ...
David Robie's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
86 views

Zethi, Arcane Blademaster and split cards

When exiling a cards with Zethi, Arcane Blademaster. If I exile a split card that is half instant and half sorcery, I can only cast the instant half, correct? Example being Said//Done.
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
105 views

Identify: dice results buy cards that give powerups to dice results

I am trying to remember the name of a game... It is a game that basically only has cards (more squarish than usual, if I recall correctly) and dice. The dice are standard 6 sided dice, not custom. All ...
josinalvo's user avatar
  • 219
-1 votes
2 answers
167 views

Ulalek copying countered spell

If I cast Ulamog, the Defiler and copy it with Ulalek, Fused Atrocity, and then somebody counters the original Ulamog spell, does Ulalek still copy the Ulamog cast trigger on the stack?
Jared's user avatar
  • 9
0 votes
0 answers
52 views

Identify this game piece

Found this on the floor, cannot figure out which board game it fell from, I have too many!!! Please help! The picture depicts reddish/brownish token with 8 corners and somewhat curved sides. At the ...
Andrew Savinykh's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
761 views

How to bid a very strong hand with values in only 2 suits?

This hand happened to me in online play. I had: ♠AKQ109 ♥AKQ75 ♦3 ♣QJ That is 21 high card points, mostly in hearts and spades, both as 5 card suits. So game in either hearts or spades looks good, No ...
quarague's user avatar
  • 275
2 votes
1 answer
127 views

Do end of turn effects trigger if the creature dies before the end of turn?

If my opponent cast a board wipe and I flicker my Yorion, Sky Nomad to exile my board except itself. Do still get my creatures back at the end of the turn even though Yorion is dead?
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
836 views

Sarkhan, Soul Aflame Becoming a dragon that entered

So I have Sarkhan, Soul Aflame as a copy of The Ur-Dragon that entered this turn. When Sarkhan attacks both Sarkhan and The Ur-Dragon's effects go on the stack, I choose to resolve Sarkhan first, draw ...
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
98 views

Miirym, Sentinel Wyrm entering the field at the same time [duplicate]

So, I have Miirym, Sentinel Wyrm and a lot of other dragons in the Graveyard. I cast Eerie Ultimatum bringing all permanents back which cause a lot of ETB effects to go off but would Miirym, Sentinel ...
Nakoto Amagi's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
300 views

Can I use black in a Genku commander deck? [duplicate]

Genku, Future Shaper is a white/blue card that includes this ability: Whenever another nontoken permanent you control leaves the battlefield, choose one that hasn't been chosen this turn. Create a ...
Sherlee O'neill's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
506 views

What is the object under the Delver of Secrets in this video?

Link to video Jared Boettcher starts with the object in play, then plays a Delver of Secrets on top of it afterwards. What is it?
user avatar
1 vote
0 answers
60 views

Identify a Solitaire game from the 70's

I'm looking to find the name of the game my grandfather taught me back in the 70s. Deal: It was played with two decks. There are two rows of cards dealt. Top row is dealt face down and counted out ...
user44168's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
597 views

Can you cast a copy of a card from the battlefield if the effect creating the copy specifies that it can be cast?

I recently saw a post on r/BadMtgCombos about an interesting combo, the combo works as following (text copied from the author, credit to u/Gamesfreak13563): First, get Transmogrifying Licid and ...
programmer's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
123 views

Can someone explain to me the interaction with chains of mephistopheles and sylvan library

I totally get how Chains of Mephistopheles works with pretty much any card in any situation with any amount of chains in play except for the Sylvan Library interaction. I find it gets pretty ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 151
1 vote
2 answers
57 views

Bridge bidding question as responder with one point

Partner opened bidding with 1 heart. Opening hand was 5 and 6 of spades, KQJ97 Hearts, K83 diamonds, AQ6 clubs (15 points). I passed. My hand was J83 spades, 862 hearts, 9654 diamonds, 10 7 5 clubs ...
Marian Price's user avatar
3 votes
0 answers
60 views

Three Men's Morris ordered variant with FIFO pieces

I had an electronic game several decades ago where I could play Three Men's Morris. After placing three pieces, I would click on one free spot and my last-placed token would move there; the computer ...
emonigma's user avatar
  • 131
-2 votes
1 answer
72 views

Two skips after attack

If I play two skip turn cards after attack card is played against me, does it mean that the next person has to take two turns?
eugenekr's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
134 views

Does Lavinia, Azorius Renegade work against Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy?

Do either of Lavinia, Azorius Renegade's abilities: Each opponent can’t cast noncreature spells with mana value greater than the number of lands that player controls. Whenever an opponent casts a ...
Frank's user avatar
  • 9
1 vote
1 answer
555 views

Can I attack with more than one Master of Cruelties?

I have two Master of Cruelties on the board, and I'm wondering: am I allowed to attack with both of them? I know that he has the rule of "Master of cruelties can only attack alone", but if ...
Judah Winters's user avatar
15 votes
5 answers
4k views

Does Magic the Gathering need an independent arbiter for reliable detection of cheating?

In complete information games like chess, a player can always be certain about if and when an opponent cheats only given their own observations of the past and present state of the game because the ...
2080's user avatar
  • 441
2 votes
1 answer
126 views

Optimal strategy for 4-in-a-row on 5-by-5 board with random setup and a transfer

Is the optimal strategy known for the following variant of 4-in-a-row where the first 2 moves are random and the 2nd player can once move a mark to any location. Win condition: 4-in-a-row. Board: ...
altair's user avatar
  • 21
0 votes
3 answers
207 views

Is it allowed to put a single letter on the board?

If there is already the word "APPLE" on the board and I have an "S", is it allowed to make it "APPLES" or do I always have to put at least two letters on the board?
D.R.'s user avatar
  • 127
2 votes
1 answer
70 views

Galaxy Trucker: when exactly does a player lose by getting lapped?

In the Galaxy Trucker board game, a player that is being lapped has to concede. In our last game, the leading player discovered a "free space" card and decided to spent some batteries ...
Aldinjo's user avatar
  • 185
3 votes
0 answers
69 views

Mage Knight The Board Game : Where Reputation plays a role?

In Mage Knight, reputation is important when spending influence at some sites for reducing or increasing the influence costs. I am looking for a list of sites where the player's reputation is used as ...
aJynks's user avatar
  • 141
1 vote
1 answer
54 views

Wrongly picking up the discard pile in Canasta

What is the penalty for picking up The discard pile in error. For example, a player has two of the same face value cards but have not completed their initial melds points wise for the rd and even with ...
user43687's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
89 views

Should bidders take "controls"into account when trying to bid a no trump slam?

By "controls," I mean the situation whereby an ace is worth two controls, and a king one. Given four aces and four kings, there are 12 controls in all. If two partners have 31 (random) high ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
0 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I use Ulalek's ability multiple times after casting a single spell?

So my friends and I were talking about Ulalek, Fused Atrocity, the new Commander for the Eldrazi pre-con deck, and I wanted to know if the ability can be paid for more than once on just any instance. ...
shadow 6195's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
450 views

If I ask "What is your Oblivion Ring targeting?", am I letting the spell resolve?

My opponent casts Oblivion Ring while I have a Grizzly Bears and a Hill Giant on board, and a Counterspell in hand. I don't mind if my opponent removes the Hill Giant, but for whatever reason the ...
amalloy's user avatar
  • 435
1 vote
2 answers
127 views

If I have Ashaya out and return Quirion Ranger with itself, can it target itself?

If I have Lotus Cobra, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild, Nadu, Winged Wisdom, and Quirion Ranger out, can I target Quirion Ranger with its own ability while returning Qurion Ranger to my hand?
Christian's user avatar
  • 1,301
3 votes
1 answer
801 views

Can you sell all of your Monopoly properties to one other player for $1? [duplicate]

If a player has a feeling they are not going to win, but they want to quit, and they ask another player if they want to buy all of their properties for $1, is that cheating or not allowed?
Floribra's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
2k views

When do I pay the cost in Ulalek's triggered ability?

I’m looking at the ability of one of the upcoming Eldrazi releases, and was wondering when payment happens and when the ability goes on the stack. Ulalek, Fused Atrocity has the ability Whenever you ...
Littleinhuman's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
33 views

Karak: Curse during Sprint of Hannah the Acrobat

The following scenario came up in a game of the Karak board game with the Regent expansion: Hannah the acrobat has the "Sprint" ability which allows her to move 8 tiles through discovered ...
Aldinjo's user avatar
  • 185
0 votes
1 answer
57 views

Final point count

When playing American Canasta, open with a wild card canasta and am not able to close it. Negative 2000 but do we still add up the point value of those cards either closed with 7 or still open?
Deborah Cinque's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
356 views

Alternative costs stacking (flashback+spectacle)

I cast Slickshot Lockpicker, which says: When Slickshot Lockpicker enters the battlefield, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is ...
Guillaume's user avatar
  • 125
1 vote
1 answer
101 views

Where would modern bridge players draw the line in the following paradigm?

Take a hand like ♠ AK ♡ K ♢Txxxx ♣ Txxxx. In the old days (about 100 years ago), some experts might have evaluated the hand at 2.5 quick tricks and two five card suits and opened it 1 diamond (or 1 ...
Tom Au's user avatar
  • 22.1k
2 votes
4 answers
300 views

Are there strategies to counter politics, as defined by Richard Garfield?

In Characteristics of Games by Richard Garfield et al., a dynamic which emerges within a large number of multisided games is explicated... Imagine a game, which we’ll call the “chip-taking game,” ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 728
8 votes
4 answers
2k views

How can my blue and black deck return enchantments from the graveyard?

I’ve created a blue and black deck, the concept is to create damage with enchantments, like Dark Tutelage or Stab Wound and to neutralize creatures or spells with essence scatter and other neutralize ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
1 vote
1 answer
158 views

Does tapping already tapped creature counts as "committing a crime"?

The Sterling Keykeeper is on the table and a player activates its ability (2, Tap: Tap target non-Mount creature), targeting opponent's tapped non-Mount creature. Does "commit a crime" ...
Denis Gladkiy's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
73 views

Mtg: Electrostatic Field return to hand [duplicate]

Situation: The Electrostatic Field is a creature. In my turn I play the Artful Maneuver. My opponent plays the Compelling Deterrence and returns the electrostatic field in my hand. I know that his ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
-1 votes
1 answer
97 views

When Genju of the Fens dies, does the swamp go in the graveyard?

When I play Genju of the Fens, I enchant a swamp, and I pay the mana to transform the swamp to a 2/2 black spirit creature, but it’s still a land and it dies because of blocking or spells. Then the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
3 votes
0 answers
47 views

RISK The Battle for Medieval England Ambiguous Card

First time playing Risk: The Battle for Medieval England and we encountered a power card that is pretty powerful but also very confusing. Its a power card that once flipped over must be played ...
Logan_B's user avatar
  • 131
0 votes
1 answer
47 views

Clarification on 7 Wonders Pantheon Ra Steal Wonder Power

Checking on a detail on Ra steal wonder power. So, you snag a wonder of your choice. Do you then place it amongst your unbuilt wonders? In other words, I assume it is not correct to place it into ...
Dan Maloney's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
409 views

Is a creature spell already a permanent?

I have a question, is a creature spell already a permanent? The situation: I played against a friend of mine, he played a creature, so I played Essence Scatter to counter it. After that he played Turn ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
5 votes
1 answer
855 views

Mtg: attacking effect, but the creature dies

Neck Breaker (the transformed side of Breakneck Rider) gives attacking creatures +1/+0. If I attack and then a spell kills the Neck Breaker after I declared my attackers, does the effect remain on the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179

15 30 50 per page
1
2 3 4 5
280