7

I looked over the Gatherer rulings and it didn't mention anything about it, nor does it mention permanents on the card or in the rulings.

I ask because I wanted to know if I could use Æther Vial to summon any artifact from my hand with March of the Machines in play.

9

On any given card, a card that specifies a permanent type without explicitly saying 'card' only affects permanents in play (unless otherwise specified by the card). If you have an artifact card in your hand, it is exactly that - an artifact card, and not an 'artifact'...

Relevant rule

109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

(https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Object)

  • 1
    Also, note that this means that (normally non-creature) artifacts played from your hand will be artifact spells but not creature spells, and cannot be countered by cards like Essence Scatter. – Steven Stadnicki Jan 15 '13 at 19:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.