My reason for asking is I believe the promotion to be instant: As the pawn's toe crosses the line into the square, it transforms into the promotion piece's toe... Meaning that even though the route was blocked for a pawn, the promotion to a queen (for example) would allow the move to proceed.


No. A pawn gains no special movement rules when on the penultimate rank. Often in end-games the opposing King will be in front of the pawn to prevent it from being promoted.

| improve this answer | |
  • Just cos you're right...that doesn't mean I have to like it ;) – Bryan with a y Jan 30 '13 at 10:28

This is not football, where a "touchdown" is scored by crossing the "plane" of a goal line.

In order to become a queen, a pawn has to occupy a square on the eighth line. If that square is already occupied, a pawn can't "share" the square using a forward move.

The only way a pawn can queen against an enemy piece on a queening square is by capturing it with a DIAGONAL move.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.