A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell.

Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature or enchantment that has a sacrifice ability?

  • 3
    A scenario that confused me once in actual play was stealing a creature equipped with Blazing Torch from my opponent. Although the creature now controlled by me had the "Tap, Sac Blazing Torch" ability, it couldn't actually use it, because that would be sacrificing a permanent controlled by another player. Much to my disappointment... Feb 15, 2013 at 14:17
  • 1
    Gets even worse with older equipment cards where there are frequently abilities of the equipment itself, as opposed to newer ones that are generally worded to grant an ability to the creature!
    – Affe
    Feb 15, 2013 at 18:02

1 Answer 1



701.16a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that isn’t a permanent, or something that’s a permanent he or she doesn’t control. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can’t affect this action.

(Emphasis mine.)

  • 13
    If you couldn't, spells like Act of Treason wouldn't be nearly as powerful. There's few greater feelings than stealing your opponent's big creature he hasn't even used yet to hit him with it, then sacrifice it on him. Hint: don't do that to your wife the first time you play with her, she won't play for weeks. [citation: personal experience].
    – corsiKa
    Feb 15, 2013 at 21:01
  • 3
    Grab the Reins would be the poster child for this answer. As it does both parts and does it intentionally.
    – LovesTha
    Jan 25, 2016 at 2:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .