We played for the first time last night, and we tried the family version to start to understand the game. The situation arose where a smoke marker came up on top of a POI marker.

The POI marker was still unknown. We searched the manual and couldn't find any reference to it, so is it ok to put the smoke marker underneath a POI marker?

1 Answer 1


Placing Smoke on a POI

Yes, you put the smoke on the same space as the POI, and the POI is unaffected. If the smoke later turns into fire, the POI will then be removed.

Placing a POI on Smoke

In the family version (page 6 of the rules), yes. They even eliminate the smoke for you!

If the Target space has a Fire or Smoke marker, remove that Fire/Smoke marker before placing the POI marker.

However in the experienced game (page 10 of the rules), you adjust their position instead.

In the Experienced game a POI may only be placed in a space without a Threat marker (Fire or Smoke), Firefighter or another POI. If the POI Replenishment Target space is invalid, then use this diagram to redirect the POI. Begin in the Target space and follow the path created by the arrows as shown until you reach a valid space. The arrows are also placed on the board for easy reference during the game. If there are no valid spaces on the path, reroll.

  • Smoke on top of a POI can definitely happen, no special rules. The POI is not affected until the smoke turns into fire, at which point they are removed.
    – bwarner
    Mar 4, 2013 at 18:16

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .