The card Thrumming Stone says:

Spells you cast have ripple 4. (Whenever you cast a spell, you may reveal the top four cards of your library. You may cast any revealed cards with the same name as the spell without paying their mana costs. Put the rest on the bottom of your library.)

Does this mean then when I cast a spell (e.g. Relentless Rats):
I look at the top 4 cards which contains a Relentless rat,
I cast this card and then ripple again?

And if I find two rats in one ripple does this mean I can look at my next 8 cards?

2 Answers 2


It does work like that. That's part of the point of Ripple... if your deck is built correctly, you can just keep on Rippling all the way through it.

This ruling on Thrumming Stone in Gatherer may be instructive:

If you cast a spell that already has ripple (such as Surging Flame, which has ripple 4) while Thrumming Stone is on the battlefield, both ripple abilities will trigger separately. Assuming you choose to do all "you may" actions, when the first instance of ripple resolves, you reveal the top four cards of your library, cast all Surging Flames, and put the rest of the cards on the bottom of your library. Any new Surging Flames are on the stack on top of the other instance of ripple, so they'll resolve next. Each of them also has two instances of ripple, which trigger separately, and the process continues until the ripple abilities don't reveal any Surging Flames.

As you can see, each new copy of Surging Flames has not one but two instances of Ripple (one granted by Thrumming Stone) which resolve. Ripple keeps on going until there's nothing with Ripple left to cast.

  • So if you play an EDH deck with 30 Relentless rats, you can get them all out with just one rat? (if you are lucky) Commented May 2, 2013 at 12:49
  • 1
    @SirDuckduck If you play an EDH deck with 30 Relentless Rats, you aren't playing an EDH deck. "With the exception of basic lands, no two cards in the deck may have the same English name."
    – SocioMatt
    Commented May 2, 2013 at 12:51
  • 11
    You CAN have any number of copies of Relentless Rats in an EDH/Commander deck. It's the golden rule of Magic: "101. The Magic Golden Rules 101.1. Whenever a card's text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a)."
    – GendoIkari
    Commented May 2, 2013 at 13:11
  • 1
    @GendoIkari Gah! Just started looking around and it seems the internet agrees with you (probably because you're right). But I stand by my statement of it violating the spirit of EDH.
    – SocioMatt
    Commented May 2, 2013 at 13:14
  • 3
    @SocioMatt Relentless Rats allow you to play a number of Johnny cards that otherwise wouldn't work in EDH, like Bloodbond March, Thrumming Stone, and Doubling Chant. Even the most combo-tastic Relentless Rats decks don't go off super-fast and are easy to interact with using commonly-used EDH cards (like sweepers). That's entirely within the "spirit" of the format.
    – Alex P
    Commented May 2, 2013 at 13:44

Yes. The first rat will ripple and then each subsequent casting of the spell 'relentless rats' will ripple, because the triggered ability will happen each time you cast a spell.

Note that this is a may trigger. Which means once it is on the stack, you may choose to do it or you may choose not to do it when it comes time to resolve the ripple effect.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .