Just a silly question, can you run 99 Relentless Rats in commander? Maybe that and Sphinx of the Chimes and some juicy commander that plays off creature types.

  • 1
    You may note that there are those who would argue that playing relentless rats in this way, is against the spirt of EDH. – Pow-Ian Jun 6 '13 at 20:02
  • I don't think it's a very effective strategy anyways. I've heard playing Iona is against the spirit of playing EDH :p. It would be more of a gag deck than anything else. – Mitch D Jun 6 '13 at 20:08
  • @MitchD It depends entirely who you play with, but I could see people not really liking it even as an ineffective gag deck - either you'll sit there and waste time in a predictable way, or (depending on what you're planning) you'll pull out your silly combo and end the game in an unfun way. – Cascabel Jun 6 '13 at 20:17
  • 8
    @Pow-Ian Those who argue that are against the spirit of Relentless Rats. – ghoppe Jun 7 '13 at 16:07
  • 2
    Also, good luck casting one if your deck is 99 rats :) – Ivar Jan 10 '14 at 19:36

Yes, you can, for the same reason you can in other formats.

The first Golden Rule:

101.1. Whenever a card’s text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a).

They'd have to ban or restrict the card to limit its use, but it's legal in that format.

  • Awesome! Thank you kindly, good sir. – Mitch D Jun 6 '13 at 19:52

Sheldon (EDH Rules Committee) has answered this question directly.

The RC has discussed it and for the time being thinks that multiple Rats is OK. We reserve the right to change our minds down the road.

Although some rules differ from the official MtG rules (i.e. "outside the game" ,Living Wish, is handled differently than other casual formats), Relentless Rats' ability is covered in CR 112.6m. If Relentless Rats were banned in EDH, you couldn't use any copies, but since it isn't you may use any amount from 0-99 copies because [CR 112.6m] specifically allows you to ignore [CR 903.5b].

112.6m An ability that modifies the rules for deck construction functions before the game begins. Such an ability modifies not just the Comprehensive Rules, but also the Magic: The Gathering Tournament Rules and any other documents that set the deck construction rules for a specific Constructed format. However, such an ability can’t affect the format legality of a card, including whether it’s banned or restricted.


903.1. In the Commander variant, each deck is led by a legendary creature designated as that deck’s commander. The Commander variant was created and popularized by fans; an independent rules committee maintains additional resources at http://mtgcommander.net. The Commander variant uses all the normal rules for a Magic game, with the following additions.

903.5b Other than basic lands, each card in a Commander deck must have a different English name.

  • Props for finding that. mtgcommander.net forums are really, really annoying to search. – Alex P Jun 7 '13 at 3:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.