The game manual says that if you conquer an enemy scout that is alone, you can take a loot as if you had won a battle. It doesn't specify that it is a battle.

The reason we need to know is for Code of Laws. Upon winning a battle, you can get a coin token to place on that research for future investing. So is conquering a scout that is alone considered a battle?

  • In the PC edition, killing a Scout does not net a benefit a la looting or similar.
    – warren
    Jul 2, 2013 at 15:00
  • The manual does say that loot is gained, and it has already been made known that a battle does not take place.
    – ardavis
    Jul 2, 2013 at 19:49

1 Answer 1


No. If you aren't drawing square unit cards, a battle isn't taking place

From the FFG rule book (page 23)

Battle is the struggle of one civilization against another for dominance. When an army figure moves into a square containing a village marker, an enemy army figure, or an enemy city, a battle takes place.

If you had continued reading the section ENEMY FIGURES, you should have realized that.

Scouts cannot enter a square containing enemy figures. If an army enters a square containing any enemy figures, its movement immediately ends. If the square contains only enemy scouts, the scouts are immediately killed and the attacking player collects loot as though they had won a battle (see page 25). If the square contains at least one enemy army, a battle occurs (see page 23). If the square contains a mix of both enemy armies and scouts, a battle occurs, but if the losing side in the battle has any scouts in the square, they are killed along with the armies; loot is then collected as normal.

  • Thanks for this, I did read that, but it doesn't say "only if" which is why I wanted to ask.
    – ardavis
    Jun 29, 2013 at 15:43
  • Huh? What says, "only if"? IF [...] only enemy scouts THEN [...] kill scouts collect loot. IF at least one enemy army THEN battle. If a mix of scouts/armies THEN battle AND IF loser has scouts kill them too.
    – user1873
    Jun 29, 2013 at 19:24
  • 2
    I understand what you're saying, trust me. I'm saying that it just says, "If the square contains at least one enemy army, a battle occurs". It does not say that if the square contains only an enemy scout that a battle occurs. The second block doesn't help verify the answer, but the first part definitely did. So you did answer it, and I marked it as correct. No worries, sir.
    – ardavis
    Jun 30, 2013 at 3:09

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .