My first question is: Is it true that if your opponents obtains more than 5 back field cards (traps, etc) that they automatically lose? I realize you cannot lay more than 5 cards in that area, but suppose your opponent already has 5 trap cards, then you use a trap card (for example Creature Swap) to swap one of your monsters with theirs.... except that the monster you give them has 2 traps attached to it already. Now they have a total of 6 trap cards on their side. What happens? I've heard that they instantly loose and there is nothing they can do. True? Additionally, any other cool ideas on how to win using such "glitches" in the game.

  • It has been a long time since I played Yugioh but I believe in the situation you described the traps do not go to your opponents side. They stay on your side, taking up your trap/magic board area (I forget what it is called) they are just attached to his creature. This would not change the number of traps your opponent has on his side. – AdamP Jul 17 '13 at 3:22
  • If they are attached to the creature.... then shouldn't they go with the monster to the other side? – Squirtle Jul 17 '13 at 3:37
  • 2
    No. By a special card effect they mean a card that says you win if you meet certain criteria (Such as Vennominaga the Deity of Poisonous Snakes). So unless a card exists that says "You win if you make your opponent play 6 traps" then you cannot win by this method. – AdamP Jul 17 '13 at 4:39
  • 1
    I do not say this to discourage the question. I apologize if I came off that way. I am sure there are many cards out there that do have interesting effects that can let you win the game in interesting ways. I was simply trying to point out that I did not believe the given example would work. – AdamP Jul 17 '13 at 4:44
  • 4
    Calling these things 'glitches' seems like a misnomer to me. This is a card game, and one in which the rules are easily malleable by the designers; any 'non-standard' win conditions are there because they were explicitly put there by the designers, not because they happen to be some bizarre accident of the rules. – Steven Stadnicki Jul 17 '13 at 17:26

No, you do not win the game if your opponent somehow controls 6 Trap cards. There are only three ways to win a game of Yu-gi-oh (page 26 or 30 in pdf):

Winning a Duel

Each player starts a Duel with 8000 Life Points. You win a Duel if: you reduce your opponent's Life Points to 0; if your opponent is unable to draw a card; or if a card's special effect says you win. [...]

There are no "glitches", or other ways of winning a game.

  • 2
    Except in tournament play. You can win a game or duel via tournament penalty as applied by a tournament official like a judge. – Paul Williams Feb 19 '14 at 3:48
  • 2
    You can also win in a tournament if the round time is over and end-of-round procedures determine you as the winner. Note that these are NOT official (per the rules) "win conditions", so you are not allowed to aim your play towards these situations. If you intentionally play in a way that makes you win by having your opponent receive a Game or Match Loss or drag the game to overtime on purpose in order to win by the timeout procedures, you risk being disqualified from the tournament for Cheating (which is a form of Unsporting Conduct)! – scenia Feb 19 '14 at 15:04

As user1873 pointed out, this isn't a way your opponent can be defeated. Furthermore, you cannot control more than five non-Field Spell or Trap cards. Spells and Traps on your side of the field are under your control, even if they are equipped to cards your opponent controls.

You should read or re-read the rule book. If you have already read it, it appears you have some significant misunderstandings.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.