1

If I activate a creature ability that puts creatures on the battlefield, can my opponet counter it with a counter target creature spell?

6

No, you can't counter an ability with an effect that says counter target spell. You can only counter a spell

One of the reasons why people play aether vial, because you can't counter creatures put into play with aether vial


You need to pay attention to the wording of the ability. Because if the ability says that you can "cast" the creature such as Garruk's Horde, than it does take the form of spell, and can therefore be countered.

But if the ability says to put it onto the battlefield than it's not a spell, and can't be countered

  • Given what the OP said, it probably says "counter target creature spell". But this is of course right - an ability putting creatures onto the battlefield is still not a creature spell. – Cascabel Jul 25 '13 at 0:12
2

No, for the reasons Sam cited. But he could probably counter it with a spell like this, if he really wanted to:

enter image description here

  • 2
    But only if you have the judge foil Stifle; normal ones aren't strong enough. – Cascabel Jul 25 '13 at 17:19

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.