When you attack with Thorncaster Sliver and the ability triggers, does it do the damage from the attack first or the ability first?


1 Answer 1


Ability, before blockers are even declared.

The ability triggers when the Sliver attacks, which means when it's declared as an attacker.

The ability gets placed on the stack the next time a player would get priority [CR 112.3c], which is still within the Declare Attackers step. That means the ability resolves and causes damage to be dealt in that step too.

My earlier answer covers a very similar scenario in detail.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .