In Android: Netrunner, Cyberfeeder is a piece of hardware that reads:

1 [Recurring credit]

Use this credit to pay for using icebreakers or for installing virus programs.

I'm interested in the "using icebreakers" clause. I know I can use it for icebreakers' paid abilities, such as 1 [Credit]: +1 strength or 1 [Credit]: break ice subroutine, but I was wondering if it can also be used for other effects like this one of Darwin's:

When your turn begins, you may pay 1 [Credit] to place one virus counter on Darwin.

Does "use" apply to this kind of cost, or just to paid abilities?

1 Answer 1


This is answered in the Android: Netrunner FAQ (page 10):

Can the Runner use the recurring credit on Cyberfeeder to pay for using Femme Fatale’s bypass ability or Darwin’s gaining counters ability?

Yes. Triggering any ability on an icebreaker is considered to be using it.

  • Great, as I suspected. Just wasn't sure what counted as an "ability".
    – Johno
    Sep 1, 2013 at 18:30
  • 1
    Cyberfeeder doesn't say it has to be used for a paid ability, just for using. You can use it to increase Atman's strength too!
    – Nick
    Sep 2, 2013 at 11:02

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .