Suppose I cast a Wild Ricochet onto a Clan Defiance. My Clan Defiance targets flying, non flying and player: can I redirect all of them?

If I do, can I choose the target to be all on the player or do the new targets have to be under same targeting rules?


Yes, and no.

  • The choice of mode ("Choose one or more") cannot be changed.[CR 114.7]
  • The number of targets cannot be changed.[CR 114.6a]
  • Any number of the targets can be changed (including zero).[CR 114.6c]
  • The targeting conditions still apply.

For example, if the original spell targeted a flying creature and a player, the copy must also target a flying creature and a player.

Or in the example you gave, the copy will also have to target a flying creature, a non-flying creature and a player.


Yes, you can redirect all those targets. Wild Ricochet says "choose new targets" (plural), not "choose a new target" (singular).

No, you can't choose to target a player with all three effects. You still have to follow the targeting rules on the card, the same way the original caster had to - Wild Ricochet doesn't make you exempt to them.

  • So the choose new targets has to follow the cards requirements... Is there a green or red card that deals x dammage to how many targets or players you want so I could abuse wild ricochet Oct 23 '13 at 14:00
  • 1
    That wouldn't work either. Damage division is done at casting time, and you can't have a single instance of the word "target" target the same object twice. e.g. If the original did 2 to creature A, 1 to creature B and 1 to opponent, you could do at most 3 damage to the opponent.
    – ikegami
    Oct 23 '13 at 14:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.