Hissing Miasma is an enchantment that says:

Whenever a creature attacks you, its controller loses 1 life.

Does the attacker lose one life per attacking creature?

3 Answers 3


Yes (though they will be lost one at a time).

There's a rule specifically covering this:

603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences. See also rule 509.4.

If your opponent attacks you with an Elf and a Bear, two instances of the event "a creature attacks you" occurred (the Elf attacked you, and the Bear attacked you), so the ability will trigger twice.

You will place these on the stack where they will resolve one at a time, each causing him to lose one life (for a total of two).

  • 1
    (though they will be lost one at a time) Huh. So, if that opponent has something that works like "the next time a source will make you lose life, this prevents 2 life points of damage" that card should cancel ONLY the first point?
    – juanzack
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 17:51
  • @juanzack, yup! The effect of the first ability to resolve is "its controller loses 1 life." This will be prevented. Then a second instance of the ability resolves. This is explained later in the post.
    – ikegami
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 18:01
  • @juanzack, Except Hissing Miasma causes loss of life, not damage, so a damage prevention effect wouldn't do anything anyway.
    – Brian S
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 18:40
  • ug, he used "lose life" in the trigger, but "damage" in the effect. He meant "The next time you would lose life, reduce the life lost by two." or something like that.
    – ikegami
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 18:51
  • Haha yeah sorry, thanks ikegami, that's what I meant. This is interesting, since a card that would prevent the losing of 1 life from every source would completely negate Hissing Miasma.
    – juanzack
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 19:03

Yes, the attacker will lose one life per attacking creature.

The ability is a triggered ability, because it uses the word "whenever". The trigger is a creature having attacked, and if 5 creatures attack, then this will trigger 5 times.

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They can also be expressed as "[When/Whenever/At] [trigger event], [effect]."

  • Great, that's what I thought! Thanks, I had to ask this anyway since the wording in Spanish is confusing.
    – juanzack
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 17:47
  • @juanzack, Hm? The wording in Spanish is the same. "Siempre que una criatura te ataque, su controlador pierde 1 vida."
    – Brian S
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 18:43
  • Tuve discusiones con amigos por "Siempre que una criatura te ataque", porque interpretaban eso como que se activaba UNA vez cuando en una fase de ataque enemiga 1 criatura o más atacaban.
    – juanzack
    Commented Dec 5, 2013 at 19:01

Yes, the attacker will lose one life per attacking creature.

The ability is a triggered ability,when a ability is triggered it gets a 2nd trigger if say a elf and another creature attacks you as well

  • 1
    Please read existing answers, especially those with high scores, to see if an answer similar to yours had already been posted. If you post the same information that was posted three years ago, then your post may get a lower score. Of course, if you are confident that you can present the same information more clearly and understandably, then you should. I suggest sorting your questions page by "newest to oldest" instead of "most recently active", so that you can focus your efforts on newer questions.
    – Rainbolt
    Commented Nov 1, 2016 at 23:46

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .