So normally in tournaments you're restricted to a max of four identical cards per deck but can you, with wishes, get, into your hand, a fifth Force of Will, or a second Yawgmoth's Will or something?

  • 1
    if you have 4 wishes and 3 of the card in your mainboard and 1 in your sideboard, it's as though you had seven Jan 6 '14 at 21:33

In tournaments "outside the game" as stated on the wishes only consists of your sideboard. The maximum of 4 of one card rule extends to your sideboard. So your deck + sideboard can only have 4 of one card, so NO you can't have a 5th card this way in tournaments.

  • The errata said that wishes pull from your sideboard but I didn't know the maximum of four of one card rule extended to it. Thanks!
    – neubert
    Jan 6 '14 at 8:03
  • 4
    @neubert, There's no such errata. There is such a rule, though. Certain cards refer to “a (card or cards) you own from outside the game.” In tournament play, a card “you own from outside the game" is a card in that player’s sideboard --Tournament Rules
    – ikegami
    Jan 6 '14 at 14:40
  • 1
    And the deck construction rules of every official offline formats allowing a sideboard includes the following: With the exception of basic land cards, a player’s combined deck and sideboard may not contain more than four of any individual card, counted by its English card title equivalent.
    – ikegami
    Jan 6 '14 at 14:43
  • 1
    @GendoIkari Yes you can. The 4 card rule applies only to the construction of your deck. If somehow during gameplay you get a fifth card there is no rule preventing that. Jan 6 '14 at 15:32
  • 1
    @neubert, Those rulings aren't always correct or up to date. My reference, the actual rules, is much stronger.
    – ikegami
    Jan 6 '14 at 15:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.