Hibernation Sliver states all slivers have "Pay 2 life: Return this permanent to its owner's hand". So what if you have a sliver like Necrotic Sliver that gives all slivers "3, Sacrifice this permanent: Destroy target permanent."? Can you sacrifice a sliver and then return it to your owners hand before it goes into the graveyard?


No, you cannot sacrifice a sliver to Necrotic Sliver's ability and then return it to your hand with Hibernation Sliver's ability.

When you activate Necrotic Sliver's ability, you sacrifice the creature as part of the cost. By the time the ability is on the stack and you have a chance to do anything else, the creature is already off the battlefield, so it cannot activate the other ability.

  • I think my edit covers what you said.
    – murgatroid99
    Jan 12 '14 at 4:43
  • It sure has. :) Jan 12 '14 at 4:44
  • although it is not destroyed!
    – Affe
    Jan 12 '14 at 6:26
  • Right, of course. I fixed it
    – murgatroid99
    Jan 12 '14 at 6:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.