4

Say I have a spell like Victimize that says, among other things "choose two target creature cards in your graveyard"... what if I only have one creature card in my graveyard? Can I still cast the spell? Do I need to have two valid legal targets to actually cast the spell?

  • Additional note: You can't target the same object twice by a single instance of the word "target". – ikegami Jan 13 '14 at 14:06
  • If you could choose to not target anything, then you could play something like Aether Tradewinds and choose no target you control. – Acccumulation Sep 10 '18 at 21:34
  • For more precise wording you can choose fewer target than a spell 'permits' (e.g. up to two targets can be 0, 1 or 2) but not fewer than it 'requires' (e.g. two targets can only be 2). There's also the distinction between separate instances of the word target (Decimate can target a single Artifact Enchantment Land Creature four times, but each instance of the word target needs to be valid, while Victimize needs two distinct targets). – Samthere Sep 11 '18 at 14:08
10

No, you can't. You need to specify all targets. It would say "up to two targets" if you could target less. That is also for example the downside of the card Hex.

  • 1
    And to see "up to" in action, see Cruel Revival, which is deliberately worded so that you can kill something without needing a zombie to get back. – Free Monica Cellio Jan 13 '14 at 4:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.