There is an Encounter card that was drawn that caused Stamina damage. The player has a spell that negates any Stamina damage at the cost of one Sanity if roll is successful.

If that roll fails is the player able to re-roll until they are successful or lose all Sanity?

In addition to that, if the current Environment effect is Planetary Alignment which reduces all spell Sanity cost by one it would make the Sanity cost zero. In this case would the player be able to roll until successful with infinite chances?

  • It's best to name the actual spell, since in general the wording on cards matters. I'm guessing you're talking about Flesh Ward, which reads "Any Phase: Cast and exhaust to ignore all Stamina loss being dealt to you from one source. Discard this spell if the Ancient One awakens."
    – Cascabel
    Jan 13 '14 at 18:17
  • I believe that's it. I will have to double check when I get home from work and edit it in.
    – riv_rec
    Jan 13 '14 at 18:21
  • Okay. In this case, I don't think it matters, since all the spells say "cast and exhaust", but in general it's helpful!
    – Cascabel
    Jan 13 '14 at 18:22

Yes, you get only once chance.

The key phrase is "cast and exhaust". An exhausted card can't be used again until it's un-exhausted during the next turn's upkeep. And the spell is exhausted whether or not you succeed at casting it.

The rules are a little bit fuzzy on this, but this official FAQ has a pretty clear answer:

Does an unsuccessful attempt to cast a spell still exhaust it?


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.