What happens if both players have only 3 cards in their library and I cast Wheel of Fortune (Each player discards his/her hand and draws seven cards) ?

Is it any different if one player has 1 card and the other player has 3 ?

  • 1
    The active player performs all his draws before the next player performs his. (But it doesn't matter here.)
    – ikegami
    Feb 17 '14 at 20:03

Here are the relevant Comprehensive Rules:

104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

Nothing happens until a player would get priority, so the order in which the players drew the cards doesn't matter.

704.4. Unlike triggered abilities, state-based actions pay no attention to what happens during the resolution of a spell or ability.

All the SBAs are performed simultaneously.

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. [...]

All the players would lose simultaneously if it were not for the following exception:

104.4a If all the players remaining in a game lose simultaneously, the game is a draw

In both cases, the game ends in a draw. Because the rules pay no attention to what's happening during the spell's resolution, having more cards doesn't protect you in this case. As soon as state-based actions are checked (i.e. after the spell resolves) you both lose the game at the same time and it's therefore a draw.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.