5

Champion of the Parish gains +1/+1 "Whenever a another human enters the battlefield under your control". If I play Nyxborn Shieldmate as a bestow does it count toward this effect? I know it does not count as a creature but it is still a human is it not?

6

According to the definition of "Bestow" (702.102a), the card will enter as an Aura spell.

"Bestow [cost]" means "You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost." and "If you chose to pay this spell’s bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature.

The game will remove the Creature type from the card. Since Human is a subtype of Creature and not a subtype of Aura, the card loses the Human subtype per 205.1a

"If an object's card type is removed, the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are also removed for the entire time the object's card type is removed."

The ability won't trigger since the card does not have the subtype Human.

| improve this answer | |
  • I agree with your conclusion but I think the crucial rules are 205.3m and 205.3k. It's too long to post here but they state enchantment subtypes and creature subtypes, which then supports to your conclusion that as an Enchantment-Aura type it cannot have the creature subtypes. I already knew it was not a creature but your use of the phrase "creature subtypes" gave me a clue of where to look. – Fr33dan Mar 5 '14 at 3:14
  • 8
    The other relevant rule is 205.1a: "If an object's card type is removed, the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are also removed for the entire time the object's card type is removed." Bestow temporarily removes the Creature type. – murgatroid99 Mar 5 '14 at 3:16
  • @murgatroid99 are you saying that "becomes an Aura" implies "loses creature and gains enchantment and Aura"? – corsiKa Mar 5 '14 at 18:59
  • @murgatroid99 Thanks for posting 205.1a I will update the answer. – Robert Karl Mar 5 '14 at 19:05
  • @corsiKa Yes, I am. Unless an ability that changes types says "in addition to its types" or "still a [type. supertype, or subtype]", the other types are removed. See rule 205.1b. – murgatroid99 Mar 5 '14 at 19:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.