Courser of Kruphix says:

Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may play the top card of your library if it's a land card. Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, you gain 1 life.

Does this mean if the top cards in my deck are a series of land cards they will all be played as they are revealed or is it still limited by the one land per turn rule?

  • 3
    This is a common point of confusion because people remember Oracle of Mul Daya, which is a very similar card that did have that extra clause. Courser doesn't. Watch out for this mistake, especially at tournaments. – Alex P Mar 8 '14 at 1:18
  • 1
    See also: Future Sight/Magus of the Future, which have the same limitation. – Chad Miller Mar 8 '14 at 3:19
  • It simply means you may play it as if it was in your hand. – ikegami Mar 8 '14 at 5:19

You play the land normally, as if it were in your hand, with all the same restrictions. You are still limited by the 1 land per turn rule. In order for a card to let you play more than 1 land, it would need to say "you may play additional lands", or it could say "you may put it onto the battlefield" instead of saying "play."

See the rulings on Gatherer:

1/1/2014 Playing a land with the second ability counts as your land play for the turn. If you play a land from your hand during your turn, you won’t be able to play an additional land from the top of your library unless another effect allows you to.

And of course, the timing restrictions still apply too: you still have to play the land at a normal time, during your main phase when you have priority with an empty stack.

  • What would be the benefit of this card then, other than the ability to gain life when a land comes under your control? Does this mean that say, for example, you draw your card for that turn (which is not a land) and then a land happens to come next, you can play it even if you aren't allowed to draw it until next turn? – agent154 Sep 17 '14 at 20:51
  • 2
    @agent154 That is correct. If at any time the top card of your library is a land, and you haven't played a land this turn, then it's like getting a free "Draw a card". – GendoIkari Sep 17 '14 at 20:53

protected by doppelgreener May 12 '15 at 14:37

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.