4

According to the Wikipedia description of Canfield, "cards on the tableau are also moved one unit, provided that the entire column has to be moved". In other words, this suggests that if you move a sequence of cards from one column to another, that sequence must constitute the entire column being moved, rather than an arbitrary number of cards from the bottom of a column.

However, I can't find any other reference to this restriction. In other books of card games I have referenced, they seem to imply simply that arbitrary valid sequences can be moved from one column to another. Can anybody provide a source for the more restrictive version of the rule mentioned in the Wikipedia article?

(My question is hence similar to this question referring to movement in Klondike, but applied to Canfield.)

2

Bicycle cards lists the more restrictive rule.

Building

Any movable card or cards (from tableau, reserve, or stock) may be placed only on a card next-higher in rank and of opposite color in the tableau. Example: The 8♥ may be placed on 9♣ or 9♠. An entire pile of the tableau must be moved as a unit.

Boardgames.about.com also lists the more restrictive rule. To move cards from one tableau pile to another, you may only move the entire pile.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.