Dragon Master:

Once per turn, you may conquer a Region using a single Race token, regardless of the number of enemy tokens defending it. Once conquered, place your Dragon there...

Does this allow you to conquer any region on the map, even if it's not adjacent to a region you already control? In a game I played last night, it was ruled that it could do this. However I don't agree with that ruling since it doesn't explicitly grant that exception.


The Dragon does not fly or give the race flying. (Therefore you can normally* only conquer adjacent areas).

The Dragon does not do the conquering, only allow you to conquer an area with a single race token. You place the Dragon after you conquer the area.

*normally used as I don't have all the expansions and for all I know there is an edge case out there!

  • One edge case would be the Dragon Master Spiderines: For conquest purposes, your Spiderines consider all Regions bordering a Chasm as adjacent to the Regions they already occupy. For your first conquest, you may enter the board through any Region bordering a Chasm.
    – Hackworth
    Aug 27 '11 at 12:51
  • 4
    A humorous reminder of this rule is actually the artwork on the dragon token itself. If you look closely, you'll see that it is a walking dragon, not a flying one, and that it is being coaxed forward with human bait dangling from a long stick.
    – Gundabad
    Sep 6 '11 at 12:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.