I have an Elvish Mystic (EM) and Pharika Mender (PM) in my graveyard, and a Gray Merchant of Asphodel (GMOA)on the battlefield. At the end of my opponent's turn, I play Rescue from The Underworld (RFTU), sacrificing my GMOA as the additional cost to cast it. I choose PM as my target for RFTU.

During my upkeep, GMOA and PM enters the battlefield and their trigger are put on the stack. I place PM's trigger first, and then GMOA's trigger.

In respond to GMOA's trigger, my opponent kills GMOA, and then GMOA's trigger resolves -- which means PM's trigger resolves next.

When PM's trigger resolves, am I able to target GMOA to return it to my hand?

  • 1
    Can we use the proper abbreviation for "Gray Merchant of Asphodel", Gary? =) – corsiKa May 28 '14 at 20:42
  • Also, why wouldn't you put GMOA's trigger on first, and then PM's trigger? This way, you could bring back a Black permanent for a higher devotion count for GMOA's trigger. – corsiKa May 28 '14 at 20:44
  • Pharika's trigger returns the card to your hand, so devotion count doesn't change, as much as I'd like it to. ; ) – Googooboyy May 29 '14 at 2:59


The targets of abilities and spells are chosen as these go on the stack, so you should have had a target chosen already even before the merchant died in the first place.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.