2

In a game of Planechase, suppose we're on Horizon Boughs, which says:

All permanents untap during each player's untap step.

I have Deserter's Quarters out, tapped using its second ability to keep another creature tapped.

You may choose not to untap Deserter's Quarters during your untap step.

{6}, {T}: Tap target creature. It doesn't untap during its controller's untap step for as long as Deserter's Quarters remains tapped.

Would this mean I can choose not to untap Deserter's Quarters during the untap step, and keep the other creature tapped, or do both of them untap anyway?

  • I've edited your question for clarity. Do you also mean to ask if Deserter's Quarter's target of its activated ability would be untapped? – doppelgreener Jul 5 '14 at 11:02
  • I am asking if it has to untap my opponent is saying it has to, but i believe i can choose not to untap it, which means the creature it is keeping tapped will not untap as i am keeping deserter's quarters tapped so that creature cant untap. – Artegar Jul 5 '14 at 11:43
  • Ok, edited a bit more. Does that fit? – doppelgreener Jul 5 '14 at 11:47
3

Deserter's Quarters becomes next to useless.

If someone casts Burst of Energy targeting your Deserter's Quarters, it would untap since it's not your untap step. Same thing here.

When in Horizon Boughs, your Deserter's Quarters untaps in the other players' untap steps since you only have the option of not untapping him in your untap step. (The creature held in Deserter's Quarters remains tapped.)

Similarly, the creature held in Deserter's Quarters untaps in your untap step since Deserter's Quarters only prevents it from untapping in its controller's untap step.

Horizon Boughs makes Deserter's Quarters really inefficient. At best, you could retap a creature every turn for 6 mana in a two-player game.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.