What is the color of the following Magic conspiracy cards:

  • Advantageous Proclamation
  • Backup Plan
  • Brago's Favor
  • Double Stroke
  • Immediate Action
  • Iterative Analysis
  • Muzzio's Preparations
  • Power Play
  • Secret Summoning
  • Secrets of Paradise
  • Sentinel Dispatch
  • Unexpected Potential
  • Worldknit

Conspiracy cards (cards with the Conspiracy type) are colorless. They are not permanents, they cannot be played in decks, they only exist in the command zone*, and they never interact with cards, abilities, or effects that care about color.

Rule 105.2 says

An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana cost, regardless of the color of its frame. An object's color or colors may also be defined by a color indicator or a characteristic-defining ability.

and rule 202.2b says

Objects with no colored mana symbols in their mana costs are colorless.

Conspiracy cards do not have mana costs (in particular, no colored mana symbols), color indicators, or characteristic-defining abilities, so they do not have any color; they are colorless.

* This was clarified in the Magic 2015 update:

313.3. Conspiracy cards remain in the command zone throughout the game. They’re not permanents. They can’t be cast or included in a deck. If a conspiracy card would leave the command zone, it remains in the command zone.

  • 1
    Booster Tutor is Unhinged, and like many cards in that set it does not work in the MTG rules. By that same argument, you could put a rules card in your hand, but we don't have rules about that either. – murgatroid99 Jul 8 '14 at 22:52
  • 3
    @corsiKa The comprehensive rules include rules for conspiracy cards and Conspiracy Draft, so even if there are some funky rules quirks out there, Wizards clearly made an effort to make them fit into the rules framework. They've also made it pretty clear that Un- cards aren't really covered by the comp rules. That seems like a fairly good reason to make a distinction between Conspiracy and Unhinged. – Cascabel Jul 8 '14 at 23:38
  • 5
    @corsika Conspiracy cards work within the rules. Unhinged cards do not. What part of that line is arbitrary? – Rainbolt Jul 8 '14 at 23:41
  • 8
    @corsiKa If you think Un cards have any place whatsoever in valid MTG play, I'd like to play against you with my R&D's Secret Lair/Ashnod's Coupon deck, preferably in an expensive bar. – murgatroid99 Jul 8 '14 at 23:42
  • 1
    Unless it says "all objects with no color are colorless", I don't think I need to change anything – murgatroid99 Jul 8 '14 at 23:54

None of the Conspiracy cards have any mana costs, color indicators, or characteristic-defining abilities relating to color. Thus, they are all colorless.

  • I think you should reference rule 202.2b Objects with no colored mana symbols in their mana costs are colorless or rule 105.2c A colorless object has no color or both. – Rainbolt Jul 9 '14 at 0:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.