Polymorphist's Jest says each creature target player controls loses all abilities and becomes a blue Frog with a base power and toughness 1/1. My question is... how would this work with Emrakul? Like let's say a player attacks with Emrakul, you cast Polymoprhist's Jest and then lightning bolt Emrakul.

My assumption is that the defending player would still have to sacrifice six permanents because the attack is earlier in the stack.

And when Emrakul hits the graveyard does it go into the graveyard and stay there or does the graveyard still get shuffled into the library?

  • 2
    Can you please make an attempt to generalize your titles in the future? You have a history of asking questions with nothing but card names. This makes it difficult to identify duplicates. Regarding the first question, "If a creature loses all abilities after being declared as an attacker, do abilities that would trigger on attack still trigger?" Someone could ask the exact same question using Turn/Burn and Ulamog. A better question title is simply a shortened version of the actual question, like "Do attack triggers still trigger if the source loses all abilities?" – Rainbolt Jul 15 '14 at 20:08
  • 1
    I also want to point out that you also asked two questions in one, making it hard for me to revise your current title in a way that would still describe both of your questions. Please ask two questions in the future when you have two questions. That way, if one of them is a duplicate, we can easily identify it, and if it has a poor title, we can easily improve upon it. – Rainbolt Jul 15 '14 at 20:09

Defending player will still have to sacrifice 6 permenants, and Emrakul and the rest of the graveyard will still be shuffled into the controller's graveyard.

Anailator still happens, not exactly because the attack is earlier in the stack like you say ("the attack" doesn't go on the stack). But as soon as Emrakul is declared as an attacker, the "when attacks" ability triggers and goes in the stack. After that, it doesn't matter what happens to Emrakul. Best to kill it in the beginning of combat step.

It still gets shuffled back in because that trigger happens "when it is put into the graveyard". And by that time, it's back to normal, sitting in the graveyard with its abilities. Note that if it said "when Emrakul dies..." instead, then it would NOT be shuffled back in, because when it dies triggers care about the state of the object as it was on battlefield, and the ability didn't exist in the battlefield.

  • 1
    @neubert, It's "back to normal" because moving a card from one zone to another causes the cessation of the object in the original zone and the creation of a new object in the new zone. The new object is created from what's on the card. CR 400.7 – ikegami Jul 13 '14 at 17:59
  • @ikegami is there a reference for when a card reverts? I'm having trouble reconciling that the graveyard should be shuffled, it seems to me that the shuffle trigger would happen from the battlefield, but he doesn't have the ability there. Would it work the same way if it was a "dies" trigger? – Trying Jul 14 '14 at 16:14
  • @JakeP; every time the gamestate changes, everything is checked again; starting with the text on the cards and applying each layer of effects. – GendoIkari Jul 14 '14 at 16:33
  • @JakeP, my answer says that "Dies" triggers are NOT the same. That DOES trigger based on the the state of the object as it was on the battlefield. But "Enters the graveyard" triggers do not care where they came from, or what it was when it was there. – GendoIkari Jul 14 '14 at 16:34
  • @Jake P, Loosely speaking, the reversion occurs on zone change. You can't find the rule because there's technically no reversion. The object on the 'field is different than the obj in the graveyard (400.7). The one on the 'field has no abilities because they were removed by PJ. The only in the graveyard has its abilities since nothing removed them. // Emrakul's ability triggers from the graveyard (based on the game state after the event) rather than from the 'field (based on the game state before the event) since it's not a leaves-the-battlefield trigger like "when this dies" (603.6d, 603.6c). – ikegami Jul 14 '14 at 17:12

To "die" and "put into the graveyard" are the same thing (See rule 700.6). In this case I think Emrakul's ability does not trigger.

700.6. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.” It is used only when referring to creatures.

  • 1
    This is wrong. You own rules quote contradicts what you said. Die does not mean "put into graveyard". It means "put into graveyard from the battlefield." – GendoIkari Sep 15 '14 at 0:31
  • 2
    Further, Emrakul's ability is "put into a graveyard from anywhere", and will still trigger despite not having the ability on the battlefield. – Brian S Sep 15 '14 at 14:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.