We recently purchased a copy of the original Escape From Atlantis as it was a game I used to love as a child. Playing it last night, however, we came across a couple of situations that the rules didn't seem to clarify.

If a player has an Atlantian on the same tile as a dolphin, and is using that dolphin for travel, can I 1) move a swimmer on to that tile and "steal" the dolphin away from them on a later turn, or 2) when rolling a dolphin move, cause their dolphin to "abandon" them and swim away?

We're unsure as to whether that dolphin effectively becomes "theirs" or not, where only a shark or a sea monster can get that person, or if stealing a dolphin is fair game.


Dolphins don't belong to anyone. In my version of the rules (UK), the only thing a Dolphin does is let you pay 3 movement points (I.E your entire turn) to move a swimmer and dolphin to the safety of a coral island, and leave the dolphin in front of the island.

You can move the dolphin with the swirler without having any effect on the swimmer(s) present.

I think different editions have different rules though.

| improve this answer | |
  • Excellent, thank you. This clarifies things greatly, and we'll give it a go next time we play (later, probably). – mpdc Aug 6 '14 at 11:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.