Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check:

I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like (LIFO):

  • heroic trigger (token creature)
  • Rollicker

My opponent then casts Disperse on my crusader:

  • Disperse targeting crusader
  • heroic trigger (token creature)
  • Rollicker

That's the final play, so after the stack resolves the creatures I should have are a 1/1 red soldier with haste (token) and a Nyxborn Rollicker. Is that correct?

  • 2
    Abilities on the stack exist independently of their source. If information about its source is required and the source no longer exists, use last known information (LKI).
    – ikegami
    Aug 19 '14 at 11:10

Yes. Abilities still resolve if the creature that created them is gone*, or cards like Torch Fiend would be a little bit useless. This is because of the following rule:

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. [...]

So in this case: your Akroan Crusader gets targeted by a spell, and puts a triggered ability on the stack. Even if the Crusader goes away, the ability still resolves. Then your Nyxborn Rollicker enters the battlefield as a creature instead, since its target is gone.

* Other stuff can make it fail to resolve, such as if the ability has targets and all its targets are now illegal - see rule 608.2b. But the originating creature dying won't do anything to prevent the ability from resolving.

  • Good point about the Torch Fiend. I hadn't thought about it that way.
    – Matt Ellen
    Aug 19 '14 at 8:28
  • You might want to add that the ability still resolves if it still has legal targets. If it targets the creature it came from, for example, it would not resolve.
    – murgatroid99
    Aug 26 '14 at 3:48
  • @murgatroid99 added, sound ok? Aug 26 '14 at 4:06
  • Looks good to me
    – murgatroid99
    Aug 26 '14 at 4:06
  • I was like "Why should the Rollicker resolve? It will surely fizzle". Then I read up on the Bestow ability and was surprised that it actually works the way you describe. +1
    – M.Herzkamp
    Jun 19 '17 at 12:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.