-1

Blood Feud lets two creatures fight each other. Is it similar to normal combat?

As I understand it, after a combat you use up your power and toughness. If there are 3/4 and 2/2, and they combat each other, the first one uses 2 powers to kill the other and has remaining 1 power. Its toughness is used up to be 2.

Does the same thing happen and the effect remains till the end of the turn after Blood Feud?

  • 1
    This question is covered by (but not necessarily a duplicate of) Does 'fight' involve combat?. Users who end up here might want to give it a look-see. – Rainbolt Aug 26 '14 at 20:42
5

This is not a correct understanding of either combat or fighting.

"Fight" is a special keyword that simply means "the 2 chosen creatures deal damage to the other equal to their power." Neither power nor toughness is ever "used up." If a 2/4 creature fights another 2/4 creature, both will still be a 2/4 creature after that. The only difference will be that they will both be a 2/4 creature with 2 damage on them.

In combat, power and toughness are also not "used up". The attacking and blocking creature will deal damage to the other equal to its power.

  • 1
    The specific rule about fighting is here: mtgsalvation.gamepedia.com/Fight – murgatroid99 Aug 24 '14 at 3:36
  • then does the damage the creature get from a fight transfered to the normal combat in the same turn? – June Kim Aug 24 '14 at 4:09
  • 3
    @JuneKim Yes; you need to go open the Basic Rules and re-read about how combat works and how damage works because you seem like you've misunderstood a lot. – doppelgreener Aug 24 '14 at 4:17
  • 3
    @JuneKim It doesn't matter whether the damage comes from combat, or fighting, or a spell like Shock. All damage is cumulative, and is set back to 0 at the end of each turn. – GendoIkari Aug 24 '14 at 4:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.