3

Repercussion's text reads as follows:

Whenever a creature is dealt damage, Repercussion deals that much damage to that creature's controller.

So: if, for example, a 1/1 creature is dealt 10 damage with Repercussion in play, does its controller take 10 damage or 1?

  • It's as you said: The creature was dealt 10 damage, and Repercussion deals that much damage. – ikegami Sep 8 '14 at 14:46
  • Sure. It just seemed too broken to not be banned/restricted. – intuited Sep 9 '14 at 3:51
  • @intuited nah, it's not a particularly strong card. Dealing massive amounts of damage to a creature isn't that much easier than doing the same to a player. Sure, it can make a cool combination with something like Earthquake, but that's a difficult enough interaction to exploit that Repercussion is nowhere near strong enough to be banned or restricted. – David Z Sep 11 '14 at 2:07
8

The controller takes 10 damage. A creature's toughness does not limit the damage it can take. Toughness just indicates how much damage is enough to destroy it.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.