I was playing a Sliver deck vs a co-worker today, and he played an illusion deck with Ixidron. I was having a hard time grasping how Coat of Arms would work with Ixidron turning everything face down.

Ixidron basically says all face-down cards are creatures. Is creature a type that Coat of Arms would be pairing with and make everything huge, or would coat of arms essentially do nothing to all of those face down cards?

1 Answer 1


From that same page (emphasis mine):

Creatures turned face down by Ixidron are 2/2 creatures with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost.

"Creature type" is a shorthand for a creature-specific subtype (205.3m in the Comprehensive Rules). Face-down creatures have no creature type, so Coat of Arms does not affect them.

  • So, you are essentially saying that Coat of Arms specifically effects only subtypes and since it only gets a base type of creature then it has no subtype and therefore coat of arms doesn't work on it?
    – dphil
    Sep 22, 2014 at 17:30
  • 1
    @dphil: Correct. Creature types are a subtype. Sep 22, 2014 at 17:33
  • 2
    @dphil, "Creature type" is short for "creature subtype", of which Sliver is an example.
    – ikegami
    Sep 22, 2014 at 17:37
  • 3
    The shorthand is codified in comprehensive rule 205.3m Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types
    – ghoppe
    Sep 22, 2014 at 19:11
  • 1
    @ChadMiller It might be good to reference that shortcut, and state in your answer that 'creature type' refers to certain subtypes. Sep 22, 2014 at 23:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .