Soul Link says:

Enchant Creature

Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that much life.

Whenever enchanted creature is dealt damage, you gain that much life.

If the enchanted creature is blocking, does the player gain life from the both the dealing of damage and the takng of damage at the same time? I would think so since damage is dealt simulateously and there is no reference to "either/or" in the oracle text.

1 Answer 1


Yes, you are correct. When damage is dealt, 2 separate triggered abilities trigger. You will choose the order in which to put them on the stack, and then each one will resolve.

An example: Your Soul Link is enchanting a 3/3 creature, which is blocking a 1/1 attacker. When damage is dealt, your creature will deal 3 damage, and be dealt 1 damage. 2 abilities will trigger: "gain 3 life" and "gain 1 life". You will put them both on the stack, and get a total of 4 life.

  • 3
    Note that you don't actually gain the life at the same time as the OP said - it's two separate triggers. But that's pretty unlikely to matter.
    – Cascabel
    Oct 2, 2014 at 17:54
  • 1
    Oh, never mind, the "at the same time" was probably referring to the damage, not the lifegain!
    – Cascabel
    Oct 2, 2014 at 18:35
  • 1
    Angel of Vitality is an example where it does matter. Since there are two triggers you get two additional life points instead of one.
    – Fax
    Oct 15, 2019 at 20:02
  • @Fax There's about 20 cards that care about life triggers and not amount of life, Archangel of Thune, Ajani's Pridemate, Bloodthirsty Aerialist and Karlov of the Ghost Council are the most notable.
    – Andrew
    Sep 18, 2020 at 5:15

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .