Suppose Predator's Rapport's target has counters (for example, a few +1/+1 counters). Do the counters count when calculating the gained life? I thought power and toughness do not change after adding counters.


Yes. When a card refers to any creature's power or toughness, it always means the creature's current power or toughness, not what is printed on the card. This includes any +1/+1, -1/-1 or other counters that modify power and toughness; any equipment or enchantments attached to the creature that modify power and/or toughness, and any effects from cards such as Giant Growth, Glorious Anthem, or Bile Blight.

Note that damage on a creature does not change its toughness.


+1/+1 counters count for power and toughness. The power and toughness of a creature are modified by counters in Layer 7. You can also change the P/T with other spells, such as Giant Growth. Giant growth is also applied in Layer 7.

It's hard to explain in a few sentences, but more info about the layer system is explained in this article.

  • You do not need to know about layers to answer this question. All you need to know is that power means power, not base power.
    – Cascabel
    Oct 9 '14 at 13:48
  • 2
    P/T on its own is not a CDA, it's simply a characteristic. Some creatures have a CDA that defines its P/T (the various goyfs, for example), but that doesn't make P/T a CDA in the general case.
    – Brian S
    Oct 9 '14 at 13:54
  • Counters are still applied in Layer 7, despite not being a CDA. I should be able to clean this answer up a bit. Oh, and Giant Growth happens to be applied in the same layer (Layer 7), so I fixed that too.
    – Rainbolt
    Oct 9 '14 at 15:26
  • 1
    @Jefromi You do need to know about layers if the creature in question is an Ogre. Because Ogres are like onions: they have layers.
    – corsiKa
    Oct 9 '14 at 16:29

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.