2

The mid war card South African Unrest seemed perfectly clear to me, until I read the Twilight Strategy article on it. How, exactly, can the event be played?


South African Unrest reads:

USSR either adds 2 Influence in South Africa or adds 1 influence in South Africa and 2 Influence in any countries adjacent to South Africa.

The confusion comes in from the Twilight Strategy article:

Despite a possible interpretation of the event’s text otherwise, you cannot use this for 1 in Angola and 1 in Botswana: it has to be 1 in South Africa plus 2 in Angola or 2 in Botswana.


Prior to reading Twilight Strategy I thought the following 4 options could be played:

  1. Place 2 Influence in South Africa.
  2. Place 1 Influence in South Africa, and 2 Influence in Angola.
  3. Place 1 Influence in South Africa, and 2 Influence in Botswana.
  4. Place 1 Influence in South Africa, 1 Influence in Angola, and 1 Influence in Botswana.

I think the Twilight Strategy note is saying that #4 is out. Is that right? If that was so, shouldn't the card read "In any one country adjacent to South Africa"?

2

The text on this card was changed from the second edition to the Deluxe Edition, altering any country to any countries.

From the Official FAQs:

#53 South African Unrest

Note the Deluxe Edition card text allows the option of 2 Influence in "...any countries adjacent to South Africa." effectively allowing one each in Angola and Botswana.

This allows the 2 influence to be placed either in Angola or Botswana or split between both countries, getting one each.

2
  • So, is Twilight Strategy wrong (or out of date)? Are all 4 options possible?
    – Joe Flynn
    Oct 17 '14 at 13:55
  • Yes all 4 options are possible in the current (deluxe) edition. The second edition wording of the card didn't allow for splitting the 2 influence so the alteration suggests a rule change.
    – IanH
    Oct 17 '14 at 15:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.