2

The mid war card South African Unrest seemed perfectly clear to me, until I read the Twilight Strategy article on it. How, exactly, can the event be played?


South African Unrest reads:

USSR either adds 2 Influence in South Africa or adds 1 influence in South Africa and 2 Influence in any countries adjacent to South Africa.

The confusion comes in from the Twilight Strategy article:

Despite a possible interpretation of the event’s text otherwise, you cannot use this for 1 in Angola and 1 in Botswana: it has to be 1 in South Africa plus 2 in Angola or 2 in Botswana.


Prior to reading Twilight Strategy I thought the following 4 options could be played:

  1. Place 2 Influence in South Africa.
  2. Place 1 Influence in South Africa, and 2 Influence in Angola.
  3. Place 1 Influence in South Africa, and 2 Influence in Botswana.
  4. Place 1 Influence in South Africa, 1 Influence in Angola, and 1 Influence in Botswana.

I think the Twilight Strategy note is saying that #4 is out. Is that right? If that was so, shouldn't the card read "In any one country adjacent to South Africa"?

1 Answer 1

2

The text on this card was changed from the second edition to the Deluxe Edition, altering any country to any countries.

From the Official FAQs:

#53 South African Unrest

Note the Deluxe Edition card text allows the option of 2 Influence in "...any countries adjacent to South Africa." effectively allowing one each in Angola and Botswana.

This allows the 2 influence to be placed either in Angola or Botswana or split between both countries, getting one each.

2
  • So, is Twilight Strategy wrong (or out of date)? Are all 4 options possible?
    – Joe Flynn
    Oct 17, 2014 at 13:55
  • Yes all 4 options are possible in the current (deluxe) edition. The second edition wording of the card didn't allow for splitting the 2 influence so the alteration suggests a rule change.
    – IanH
    Oct 17, 2014 at 15:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .