I've been playing Magic for about six months and thought I had a decent handle on how things work until I ran into the following problem:

Set-up: I was playing mono black devotion against blue-green control. I bestowed Herald of Torment onto Pharika Chosen. At the end of my turn, my opponent (in control of Prophet of Kruphix) flashed in a Siren of the Fanged Coast. I chose not to pay the tribute, so my opponent took my Pharika Chosen with Herald of Torment attached.

Question: If I kill Pharika Chosen while my opponent controls it, when Herald of Torment becomes a creature again do I regain control of Herald of Torment, or does my opponent retain possession of it?

  • possible duplicate of When I gain control of a creature, do I also gain control of any auras or equipment attached to it?. I edited the title on the older one to hopefully prevent this question from being asked a third time.
    – Rainbolt
    Oct 16, 2014 at 18:43
  • "Could not pay the tribute"? Did you mean "Chose not to pay the tribute", or do you think you need to move +1/+1 counters from other creatures or something?
    – Dan Staley
    Oct 16, 2014 at 20:17
  • My mana was tapped and I could not pay the tribute of 3.
    – Il Matto 0
    Oct 17, 2014 at 19:20
  • @IlMatto0; Tribute does NOT mean what you think it does! The reminder text below the Tribute keyword clarifies this, but Tribute 3 means that your opponent can choose to have it enter the battlefield with 3 +1/+1 counters on it... NOT that your opponent can choose to pay 3 mana!
    – GendoIkari
    Oct 17, 2014 at 20:07
  • Thanks Gendolkari! Wow. My friend and I have been using it wrong for a long time. I feel dumb.
    – Il Matto 0
    Oct 18, 2014 at 20:37

1 Answer 1


Your opponent never had control of Herald of Torment. When he took your creature, he only took the creature; he did not take control of any auras (or equipment) attached to it. So in this case, he would have control of a creature that has an aura that you control on it. This means that the creature would have +3/+3 and flying like usual; and YOU would lose 1 life per turn, not him.

So when the Bestow falls off and becomes a creature, it will be a creature under your control. It always was under your control.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .