Say I control Genesis Hydra, then an opponent casts Claustrophobia onto Genesis Hydra, do I control Claustrophobia?

  • 1
    This is not a duplicate. That other question is about casting an aura on your creature, then you lose control of that creature. This question is about casting an aura on a creatura you don't control.
    – Pablo
    Oct 17, 2014 at 15:20
  • This question is really a subset of the other.
    – Rainbolt
    Oct 17, 2014 at 16:06
  • 1
    Both questions are basically "If you cast (past tense) an Aura Enchantment on a creature and your opponent controls the creature, who controls the enchantment?"
    – murgatroid99
    Oct 17, 2014 at 17:03
  • 1
    @ikegami You read my comment exactly backwards. This question ⊂ other question. Other question ⊄ this question.
    – Rainbolt
    Oct 17, 2014 at 18:28
  • They are both asking the same thing: if my enchantment is on my opponent's creature, who controls the enchantment. One has the enchantment enter and then the creature change control, and the other has the enchantment enter on a creature already controlled by the opponent, but they are essentially the same problem and they have the same answer for the same reason.
    – murgatroid99
    Oct 17, 2014 at 18:55

2 Answers 2


You don't control Claustrophobia. Permanents enter the battlefield under the control of the controller of the spell, unless something else is explicitly stated.

For permanent spells:

608.3. If the object that’s resolving is a permanent spell, its resolution involves a single step (unless it’s an Aura). The spell card becomes a permanent and is put onto the battlefield under the control of the spell’s controller.

For other spells or abilities:

110.2a If an effect instructs a player to put an object onto the battlefield, that object enters the battlefield under that player’s control unless the effect states otherwise.

  • 110.2a directly addresses this issue and seems sufficient to me. It also seems to be the more fundamental and basic rule, which I'd argue is backed up by the fact that it appears earlier. 608.3 explicitly mentions an exception for Auras, and although that's not relevant, it does confuse things and also does not cover everything that 110.2a covers. I'd suggest using only 110.2a here.
    – KRyan
    Oct 17, 2014 at 20:58
  • @KRyan a permanent spell being put in the battlefield as the last step of it resolving is an effect, but is not something obvious. It is better to quote both rules so new players are not confused.
    – Pablo
    Oct 20, 2014 at 6:30

No, you will not control Claustrophobia. As with all permanents, Auras come into play under the control of the person who cast the spell that became the permanent. It doesn't matter who controls the permanent that the Aura is enchanting.

A permanent’s controller is whoever put it into play unless the spell or ability that put the permanent into play states otherwise. Other effects can later change a permanent’s controller.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .