8

Keeping in mind the force capture rule, how many kings is possible to have (of one colour) on the board at once in Checkers? What is the sequence leading up to this?

  • Are the answers not "2" and "any sequence legally possible in chess"? – hexparrot Oct 18 '14 at 16:17
  • 1
    @hexparrot: Chequers, not chess. – Forget I was ever here Oct 18 '14 at 16:48
  • 1
    Haha teach me to be so reckless! Was reading chess puzzles for an hour and then saw this. Embarrassing oversight, my apologies! – hexparrot Oct 18 '14 at 17:00
  • 3
    @ColinD I don't see why that makes it off topic. We have rather a lot of questions about games that are not also about playing the game. – doppelgreener Oct 21 '14 at 8:21
  • 1
    @warspyking it could just be that nobody's answered because nobody who's yet seen the question knows the answer – doppelgreener Oct 21 '14 at 12:54
7

For American checkers on an 8x8 board, it is possible to get 24 kings on the board from the initial position. Here is a Java applet with a proof game of 211 moves.

For International draughts on a 10x10 board, it is possible to get 40 kings on the board from the initial position. Here is a Java applet with a proof game of 389 moves.

3

If your opponent is remarkably cooperative, you could, theoretically, get 12 kings on the board for your color.

Your opponent needs to open paths for you to get their back row in such a manner that you either do not get captured or can capture him on the way in.

I've had as many 8 in a game a couple times playing against a very not good opponent.

  • What's the move sequence for 12 kings then? Please edit that in your answer so I can mark it as accepted. – warspyking Oct 23 '14 at 17:37
  • @warspyking - not sure off the top of my head, and no checker board handy to play both sides to get the optimal turnout – warren Oct 23 '14 at 18:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.