4

When cards such as Time Stop or Sundial of the Infinite that immediately end the turn are cast, are players subject to mana burn for excess mana in their mana pools?

  • 1
    You might want to take a look at the Comprehensive Rules. A lot has changed since fourth edition, including the stack and how damage works. – murgatroid99 Oct 26 '14 at 16:43
  • 1
    The basic rulebook does at least generally cover how combat damage works (and is a lot faster to read than the comp rules). There's also this article covering the main changes (which happened in Magic 2010) or this one with a bit more detail. – Cascabel Oct 27 '14 at 0:45
11

Mana burn does not exist as a rule in MTG anymore. It was removed from the rules when they released the 2010 core set.

http://archive.wizards.com/Magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/feature/42a

Back when the mana burn rule did exist, Time Stop still would cause a player to lose life due to mana burn. This is because mana burn happened automatically whenever a phase ended, and time stop caused the current phase to end. Mana burn did not use the stack, and was simply an automatic game action that occurred.

  • This makes me sad. – ProductionValues Oct 26 '14 at 16:32
  • 4
    But Braid of Fire is so good now! – GendoIkari Oct 26 '14 at 17:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.