3

With the card Awakening, could I tap all lands immediately after my untap step and then have them untap upon entering my upkeep? I ask this because I'm trying to maximize Omnath, Locus of Mana as my commander.

  • 1
    What game are you talking about? I am assuming Magic, but there are other games with similar terminology. – Ken Herbert Oct 27 '14 at 23:10
  • 1
    With the reference to "Omnath", it's definitely Magic – murgatroid99 Oct 27 '14 at 23:44
9

You could use Awakening to tap your lands twice in one turn, but not exactly in the way you expect.

Starting with your untap step, play proceeds as follows:

  1. Your untap step starts, and all of your permanents untap.
  2. Your upkeep step starts, and Awakening's triggered ability goes on the stack. You gain priority. This is your first opportunity to do anything.
  3. You can now tap your permanents to add mana to your mana pool.
  4. Awakening's ability resolves, and all of your lands and creatures untap.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.