1

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped"

Now, lets say 3 of my opponent's creatures die either through combat, spells, or sacrificing. Could I put the triggered ability on the "stack" so to say in order to get 3 2/2 black zombies for each non token creature that died that my opponent controlled, or am I forced to put one and only one despite 3 creatures dying?

3

If an ability triggers each time a creature dies, then it triggers once for each creature that died, not just for each event where one or more creatures died.

Rule 700.1 says

Anything that happens in a game is an event. Multiple events may take place during the resolution of a spell or ability. The text of triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they’re looking for. One "happening" may be treated as a single event by one ability and as multiple events by another.

in addition, rule 603.2c says

An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences.

In this particular case, that means that even though the creatures died at the same time, they count as different events for the purpose of triggers that look for individual deaths.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.