10

I need a claryfication of the rules:

  • Let's say another player uses Baron and compares his card with mine, mine being the lower valued one. I know that I'm out of this round at that point, but what happens to my card? Is it discarded face up (everyone learns what I had) and or face down (only the comparison-winning player gets that information)?
  • Let's say someone uses the Prince on me. I have to discard a card and draw another one. Do I discard my card face up or face down, keeping the information what I had to myself?
14

The Tempest version of the rules is just a little bit vague - it does say that to play a card you discard it face up, it does say that your discarded cards go in front of you, it does say that when you're knocked out you place your card face up in front of you, it doesn't explicitly say that a card you discard to the Prince should be face up (although I'd say that they weight of all the other rules says yes it should).

The Kanai version definitely spells it out:

  • All discarded cards should remain in front of the player who played them, visible, so that it is clear in what order they were discarded.

  • If a player is out of the round he or she must reveal the card in his or her hand (if any) and place it in front of him or her.

  • 1
    So basically, if I hold the Princess and someone plays Prince on me, forcing me to discard my card, I'm out of the round and everyone can see that I had a Princess. Correct? – beam022 Nov 3 '14 at 9:38
  • From what I understand, Kanai version actually doesn't say that you have to put discarded card (from the Prince) face up. It only says it must be in front of you, visible and in order (i.e. Guard, face-down-card, Priest). Which it is, even if it's face down. – beam022 Nov 3 '14 at 15:48
  • 1
    The quote I just put there (the bullet points are directly copied from the rules) says all discarded cards go in front of you face up, which would include those from the Prince. And yes, if the Prince causes you to discard the Princess, you're out of the round. – ConMan Nov 3 '14 at 22:42
  • Either we don't understand each other or I don't see the words "face up" in the bullet points quote. – beam022 Nov 3 '14 at 23:11
  • 2
    I'm reading that the cards should be "visible" means that the actual value of the cards should be visible. Especially since there is never a mention of any cards, except the one set aside at the beginning of the round, ever being face down. – ConMan Nov 4 '14 at 0:36
5

Yes, it is mandatory to show your card in both cases. The Nordic version has very clear rules for these:

Baron

Player with the smaller number in the card drops out from the round

and (from "Dropping out of the game")

If a player drops out of the game, he puts his card on front of him face up..

Prince

The player of your choise puts his card into his discard pile..

and (from "How to play")

Cards in the [players own] discard pile are kept so that even all the cards played earlier can be seen.

2

Definitely. If you are knocked out by a Baron or any other card, you must discard your card face up so anyone can see. Also, at any given time, any player can look through any other player's discarded cards stack. Also, when you discard a card for any reason, it goes face up in your stack.This goes for playing cards, etc.

1

yes its very clear

out of the round If a player is knocked out of the round, that player discards the card in his or her hand face up (do not apply the card’s effect) and takes no more turns until next round.

http://www.alderac.com/tempest/files/2012/09/Love_Letter_Rules_Final.pdf

  • 1
    The rulebook (as linked) says under Prince Arnaud: "That player discards his or her hand (do not apply its effect) and draws a new card." The crux of the initial question is whether that discard is face up or face down, which is not specified in the rules. – hexparrot Nov 3 '14 at 14:41
  • @hexparrot That's right, thanks. Also, zergs78 - welcome to the B&CG! :) – beam022 Nov 3 '14 at 15:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.