The Xia rules are just slightly vague about damage to outfits. It has two separate sections for "putting damage on an outfit" and "putting damage on a use space":
Use Space: If the (damage marker) is placed on a Use Space of an Outfit, any Markers are immediately moved to a Disarmed Space, and the Use Space is no longer usable until repaired.
Outfits: Damage Markers can be placed on any Section of an Outfit. Each Section of the Outfit can hold one (damage marker). Damage Markers on an Outfit cause that Outfit to become less effective. Each (damage marker) placed on an Outfit reduces rolls by 1.
Do these two descriptions stack, so that putting a damage marker on a use space of an outfit causes both -1 to rolls with that outfit and the arming spot cannot be used? Or are they separate, so that if you decide to damage an outfit, you have to choose between losing a use space or having the outfit be less effective?