-1

Bob had a straight to the 8 and Alice had a straight the 8, Bob had a 4 & Queen, Alice had a 8 & Jack. Who wins?

closed as unclear what you're asking by doppelgreener, bwarner, Rainbolt, Joe W, bengoesboom Nov 18 '14 at 22:13

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

3

Assuming you mean in Texas Hold'em (which you should probably state), then they tie. In Texas Hold'em, you make your best five-card hand out of the seven cards you have available to you. It sounds like from your description that Alice was holding

8 J

and that Bob was holding

4 Q

which would mean that the board had to have on it (since both of them had a straight to the 8)

4 5 6 7 8

which means that the best possible five-card hand that both players could have (in fact, that any player could have*) are the five cards on the board. As such, all players tie.

Essentially, the J/Q in that they are holding aren't even part of their hands when it come to determining the winner, and so are irrelevant.

Edit: * Well, that's not completely true. If another player were holding a 9, or a 9 10, then they would have a straight that was 9 or 10 high, which would obviously beat an 8-high straight.

  • Surely if you had a 9 (and 10) you would win the hand? But +1 for a clear answer. – TimLymington Nov 16 '14 at 13:03
  • Well, yes. But that isn't really part of the situation that he described. – Simon Rose Nov 16 '14 at 13:29
  • @SimonRose I think Tim was referring to what you said about the best hand anyone could have. – Cascabel Nov 16 '14 at 18:25
  • Fair enough, I should probably clarify that. I was mostly assuming that the two players had the best hands, but I can see how that's not really clear. – Simon Rose Nov 16 '14 at 18:32
  • Actually we don't have enough info to know what the nuts are (assuming another player to have it), as we don't know suits or the fifth card on the table; there could be flush or possibly even full house/quad possibilites. – Michael Nov 16 '14 at 20:04

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.