-2

I am having Nephalia Seakite in my deck, and it has Flash.

I read from MTG Salvation that "Flash is a keyword ability which allows cards to be played at any time you could play an Instant."

But I am not understanding, what I am reading. Does Seakite's skill give me a chance to summon whatever I like (as long as the Mana meets), whenever I like, for as long as it stays in the battlefield?

As an example: With this skill, can I summon a creature of my own in the middle of my opponent's turn?

  • 3
    @Damaskox I agree that the wiki wording is confusing and unclear. Shame on them. However, the actual comprehensive rule is shown on that page, too, and it is quite explicit and clear: Flash is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on. "Flash" means "You may play this card any time you could cast an instant." – ghoppe Nov 18 '14 at 17:30
  • 1
    @Damaskox I downvoted because you keep repeating "I am confused." without explaining what you are confused about. If you add an explanation of how rule 702.8 is confusing for you, then I'll consider retracting my vote. This isn't just to make me feel good - knowing why you are confused can help people provide a better answer. – Rainbolt Nov 18 '14 at 18:07
  • 1
    @corsiKa I would agree if I had only read the question. However, in the comments (which you apparently read too) he acknowledged that he was still confused after reading the comprehensive rule. The rule literally says "the card it’s on". How could that possibly be confusing? Is this question useful to anyone who has good command of the English language? I think not, and so I downvoted. – Rainbolt Nov 18 '14 at 19:07
  • 1
    You're a developer, are you honestly going to say you've never read documentation that spelled things out perfectly but you were still confused afterward? It happens sometimes. And honestly, a lot of people mentally tense up when they get to the CR. They assume it's so complicated they could never really understand it. In any case, it isn't prudent to downvote a question based on comments. Comments are second class citizens on Stack Exchange. – corsiKa Nov 18 '14 at 20:33
  • 3
    How about this: I downvoted this question because it links to a complete, canonical answer without any explanation of why that answer was not understood. The comments appear to indicate that the asker did not even read the page they linked to, indicating a profound lack of research effort, which is a perfectly valid downvote reason. – murgatroid99 Nov 19 '14 at 3:12
3

The keyword ability Flash only applies to the card which has it.

So yes, you could play Nephalia Seakite during your opponent's turn. It doesn't apply to any other card unless that card also has Flash.

  • Oh, now I get it! Thanks for the info, mate. – Damaskox Nov 18 '14 at 20:02
7

Flash allows the card that has flash to be played at any time you could play an instant. It does not allow you to play any other cards at any time you have an instant. So Flash doesn't mean anything once it's on the battlefield. The actual rule:

702.8a Flash is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on. "Flash" means "You may play this card any time you could cast an instant."

You can summon a creature that has flash during your opponent's turn; just like you can cast an instant during your opponent's turn.

For example, you could wait for your opponent to attack you with his 2/2, cast Nephalia Seakite at the end of his Declare Attackers Step (on his turn), then block the attacker with the Seakite to destroy the attacker. Only the Seakite can be cast as an instant (unless you have another card with Flash), and once the Seakite is on the battlefield, its Flash has no effect.

  • Might be worth pointing out the reminder text for Flash says "this spell", too, not spells in general. – doppelgreener Nov 18 '14 at 21:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.