Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down?

For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander face down.

From Gatherer:

Creatures turned face down by Ixidron are 2/2 creatures with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost.

Will my face down commander still:

  • deal commander damage?
  • enable "Lieutenant" abilities?

Is the result different if my commander is turned face down by another means?

  • Open to suggestions for a clearer title on this question Commented Nov 18, 2014 at 18:59
  • I think the title is just fine.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Nov 18, 2014 at 20:06

1 Answer 1


I just discovered that this exact circumstance is described in the rules. It will remain your commander.

903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones.

Example: A commander that’s been turned face down (due to Ixidron’s effect, for example) is still a commander. A commander that’s copying another card (due to Cytoshape’s effect, for example) is still a commander. A permanent that’s copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for example, copying a commander in a player’s graveyard) is not a commander.

  • 3
    It makes me wonder what would happen if Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and then ended up in your hand somehow and you played it face down. Then there is no way of knowing that it is actually your commander
    – Ivo
    Commented Nov 19, 2014 at 9:31
  • @IvoBeckers, It would still be your commander. I suppose it would require revealing the face-down card to prove that fact if you actually connected with her while face-down, though. (Then again, how many morph cards really get played in mono-red?)
    – Brian S
    Commented Nov 19, 2014 at 16:05
  • 3
    @IvoBeckers I think that's worthy of its own separate question. If you choose not to reveal the hidden information, does it not count as your commander? Can you deal commander damage to your opponent without them knowing it? Commented Nov 19, 2014 at 16:25

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .