-2

I control Stonehorn Chanter, which has lifelink.

If Stonehorn Chanter deals damage to an opposing player, do I gain life?

If Stonehorn Chanter deals damage to an opposing creature, do I gain life?

  • You can use [mtg:Card Name] to tag cards. – Rainbolt Nov 20 '14 at 17:48
  • @Rainbolt Is that better that the linking system I have used? And how does that "tagging" work? – Damaskox Nov 20 '14 at 17:51
  • That depends on what you mean by "better". If Wizards of the Coast changed the URL for the Gatherer, your link would be broken until manually fixed. Auto card links are fixed automatically as soon as the auto card feature is updated. Auto card provides consistency across our site by having all cards link to the same database. It's also easier to type. On the other hand, cards with apostrophes and cards whose names are contained in another card's name don't work (like Sun Titan and Sundering Titan). "Tagging" here means "generate a link". – Rainbolt Nov 20 '14 at 18:15
  • Also, it's easier :) Unfortunately, because of a bug in Gatherer, [mtg:...] doesn't work if the card name as an apostrophe ("'"). – ikegami Nov 20 '14 at 18:38
  • 8
    Why do you think you wouldn't gain the life? It says so right in the reminder text. I think a short sentence explaining the source of your doubts would improve the question. – singletee Nov 20 '14 at 22:47
4

When a creature with lifelink deals damage to anything (creature, planeswalker, or player) with any cause (spell, ability or combat), you gain that much life. That means that yes, dealing damage to a blocking creature in combat makes you gain life from lifelink. Rule 702.15b says

Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source’s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.